UNILAG VC Receives 2021 Presidential Visitation Panel

UNILAG VC Receives 2021 Presidential Visitation Panel

Members of the 2021 Presidential Visitation Panel to University of Lagos (UNILAG), led by the Chairman, General Martin Luther Agwai, paid courtesy call on the Vice-Chancellor, UNILAG, Professor Oluwatoyin T. Ogundipe, FAS, on Thursday, May 6, 2021 as the Panel resumed sitting.

It would be recalled that the President, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, on Monday, January 11, 2021 approved the constitution of Visitation Panels to 38 Federal Universities and Inter-University Centres. The panels were inaugurated on Tuesday, April 13, 2021. The main objective of the exercise is to evaluate the leadership quality of the Vice-Chancellors and Councils as well as performance of the Institutions in terms of financial management and overall condition of Teaching, Research and Community Service.

The Vice-Chancellor welcomed the Panel and intimated them with the University’s various achievements in research and innovation such as grants and awards won by members of the University. He informed them of the University’s drive to develop entrepreneurial skills in students.

The Chairman of the Panel, General Agwai, appreciated the Vice-Chancellor for giving an overview of the University. He affirmed that it was heart-warming to learn how far the University of Lagos has gone especially in the area of research. He commended the various awards the University had claimed, pointing out that the fact that the Vice-Chancellor himself had won a grant, would propel other members of staff to win awards.

General Agwai assured that the Panel aimed to work with the University and entreated Management and members of staff to support the Panel. He specially appreciated the UNILAG Team for the warm welcome and acknowledged with admiration, the gender balance seen in the University’s Management Team.

Other members of the Visitation Panel assigned to the University of Lagos are:

Barr. Femi Agunbiade                       Member

QS Agele John Alufohai                     Member

Mallam Abubakar Maikafi                Member

Barr. Mrs. Ogochukwu Onuorah      Member

Alh. Umar Yahaya (ACA)                   Member

Mr. Ashafa Ladan                              Secretary

Finally, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Development Services), Prof. Ayodele V. Atsenuwa, gave a vote of thanks, after which the Chairman of the Panel signed the visitors’ register and was taken on an aerial tour of the University before the Vice-Chancellor personally led the Panel to the Council.

Share the Post: