UNILAG Wins Grant for Sustainable Procurement, Environment and Social Standards Center of Excellence (UNILAG -SPESSCE)

The University of Lagos has won a grant for the Sustainable Procurement, Environment and Social Standards Center of Excellence (UNILAG -SPESSECE). The UNILAG -SPESSECE is part of six (6) Centers approved in 2019 by the World Bank for Nigeria after a competitive bidding by Federal Universities in Nigeria. It is a five-year enhancement project spearheaded by the World Bank and the Federal Government of Nigeria.

Sustainable Procurement, Environment and Social Standards Enhancement is designed to integrate procurement, environment and social standards professionalization within the Nigerian public and private sectors, which will enhance sustainable development and value for money in public expenditure. The grant is worth $10.75m with additional technical assistance of $3m to the University.

UNILAG-SPESSCE has the mandate to give training in Procurement, Environmental Standards and Social Standards along five tracks: Stand-alone courses, Certification courses, Post-graduate Diploma, Master’s degree and Bachelor’s degree courses.

The team is led by Dr. James Akanmu (Centre Director), Dr. Waziri Adisa (Deputy Director, Sustainable Procurement); Dr. Franca Attoh (Deputy Director, Social Standards); Dr. Olusola. Adekanmbi ( Deputy Director, Environmental Standards).

Academic Programme Coordinators include Professor O. Saibu, Professor E.O. Longe and Professor Bammeke for Procurement, Environmental and Social Standards respectively. Dr. M. Fasona is the Coordinator for Applied Research; Dr. I. John, Dr. A. Odukoya and Dr. P. Adejoh are Research Team Leads for Procurement, Environment and Social Standards respectively. Other members of the team include Professor O. Ayejuyo, Professor S. Oyediran, Dr P. Elias, Dr. O. Badejo, Dr. V. Odumuyiwa, Dr T. Lawanson and Dr. A. Oyeyiola among others.

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, FAS, on behalf of Management, staff and students, felicitates with the team on this award.

Share the Post: