MEDILAG 2022: Stakeholders Advocate Investments in Medical Training

Paying it forward via genuine commitment, concerted efforts and deliberate investments in Medical training in Nigeria formed the crux of remarks at the 2022 edition of the MEDILAG Fundraising Dinner and Awards Night.

Though a night dedicated to mobilize funds for further development of infrastructures at the College of Medicine, University of Lagos (CMUL), it was more of a moment to merry and relax away from the hustling and bustling of the day.

It also served as a platform for stakeholders particularly alumni members of the College of Medicine who have risen to the pinnacle of the medical profession in Nigeria, to express their reservations about the continued brain drain especially in the Medical sector, a trend which they said, can be tamed by providing more conducive and well-equipped training ambience for Medical students.

Speakers at the event which held at the Civic Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos on Tuesday, December 20, 2022, included the Vice-Chancellor, University of Lagos, Professor Folasade Ogunsola, FAS, Pro-Chancellor/Chairman, Governing Council, Senator Prince (Dr) Lanre Tejuoso and Provost, College of Medicine, Professor David Oke.

They all took turns to acknowledge the distinctions of some alumni members of the UNILAG College of Medicine and expressed gratitude to all alumni sets for their support in various forms as well as philanthropic gestures towards their alma mater over the years.

While calling for more involvement and input of the alumni members particularly with a view to making the academic curricula more contemporaneous and future-focused, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Folasade Ogunsola, FAS, who is also a former Provost of the College of Medicine, expressed hopes that through sustained infrastructural development at CMUL, its admission quota could be increased thereby giving room for the grooming of more hands to keep bridging the personnel gap in the Nigerian medical sector.   

Highpoint of the event which kicked off with a cocktail and mingling session was the conferment of awards on notable dignitaries and alumni members of the College of Medicine including the Medical Director/C.E.O., Medical ART Centre, Professor Oladapo Ashiru, OFR; Chairman, Schubbs Dental Clinic, Dr. Bode Karunwi; Co-Medical Director, First Cardiology Consultants, Dr Kofoworola Ogunyakin and Founder/C.E.O., Marcelle Ruth Cancer and Specialist Hospital, Dr Modupe Elebute-Odunsi.

Others included the President/C.E.O., Reddington Multi-Specialist Hospital, Dr Adeyemi Onabowale; Medical Director, Nordica Fertility Centre; Dr. Abayomi Ajayi and Founder/C.E.O., Nobel Medicals, Dr. Jonathan Abe among others.

The Speaker, House of Representatives, Rt. Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila was listed among Distinguished Guests Awardees; immediate past Vice-Chancellor of UNILAG, Professor Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, FAS, was among Outstanding Leadership Award winners while Meritorious Award went the way of the C.E.O., Premier Lotto, Sr (Dr) Kesington Adebukunola Adebutu among others.

Below is a pictorial highlight of the ceremony.

Share the Post: