Members of UNILAG Artificial Intelligence Club Shine at National Robotics Competition, Pay Courtesy Visit to Vice Chancellor

Team ConTech, a group of 10 members of the University of Lagos Artificial Intelligence and Robotics Club and two Tutors, took the Third Position at the First Tech Challenge (FTC 2022), a national robotics competition, held at Baze University, Abuja on 4th and 5th March, 2022.

Trained by the University of Lagos’ Artificial Intelligence and Robotics Laboratory (AIROL) and generously kitted by Coderina, an active partner of UNILAG’s Artificial Intelligence development efforts, the team bagged the award of Best Design of the competition. Their presentation was roundly commended by the judges for its meticulous explanation of their creation journey from ideating the robot to its design, programming and building.

Dr. Chika Yinka-Banjo, the Team Lead, briefs the Vice-Chancellor

Dr. Chika Yinka-Banjo, coordinator of the University of Lagos’ Artificial Intelligence and Robotics Laboratory (AIROL), led the team of young inventors to the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Oluwatoyin Ogundipe, FAS, on Thursday, March 10, 2022.

The visibly impressed Professor Ogundipe applauded Dr Yinka-Banjo for her selfless promotion of Artificial Intelligence and Robotics in the University of Lagos. He commended how she has gone about doggedly and innovatively sourcing for funding and support for the Laboratory, on the platform of which she has brought glory and positive publicity to the university.

He commended the students for their innovativeness and charged them to never rest on their oars.

“Artificial Intelligence and other forms of emerging technologies are set to redefine our world in fundamental ways. It is best that you, young ones, quickly find your place in it and position yourself well for the future”, the Vice-Chancellor said.

The Robotic Design of the Students

As a show of appreciation for their effort, Professor Ogundipe made a cash donation of one hundred thousand naira (N100,000) to the team.

The following are the members of Team ConTech:

1.Adekunle Abdulazeez    

2. Tomi Amusan      

3. Brambifa Dawn  

4. Fasona Pamela    

5. Folorunso Ayomide       

6. Nduka Chimamanda      

7. Nejo Oluwatomisin Ayodeji     

8. Yinka-Banjo Ruth           

9. Fasona Peter       

10. Abolade-Akinwunmi Oluwatunmise           

11. Lukmon Abdulsalam    (Coach)

12. Dikenwa David (Coach)

13. Dr. Chika Yinka-Banjo (Team Lead)

Members of Team ConTech
Share the Post: