The Dean’s Office, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences supervises the activities in the eight departments that  make up the Faculty. The Departments are: Anatomy, Biochemistry, Medical Microbiology and Parasitology, Anatomic & Molecular Pathology, Pharmacology, Therapeutic and Toxicology, Physiology, Biomedical Engineering and Medical Laboratory Science. Six of the seven Departments are responsible for the teaching of basic science courses to all the students in the College. There is also the Laboratory Animals Centre, also a Unit in the Faculty which renders supporting services in the provision of Laboratory animals for experimental purposes (teaching and research).

Students in the College of Medicine spend the first two years of their academic programme in these Departments. The successful completion of the students’ courses in these Departments is a pre-requisite to advancement to the other segments of their courses. Each of the first six departments listed above carries out its academic programme in strict compliance with the curriculum. In-course assessments takes place at the end of each course for readiness of the students to advance to the next level.

Apart from the undergraduate and postgraduate programme in which all members of staff, as of necessity, participate. They are also actively engaged in research activities. The research findings are presented at seminars which hold regularly in the various Departments of the Faculty. Invitation to participate in these seminars are issued and circulated to members of the faculty and even to people outside the Faculty. Attendance at these seminars has been encouraging.

The Faculty also actively participates in some non-NUC programme for Medical Laboratory Technology students, Science Laboratory Technology Students, Nurse Tutors, Nurses, and some Revision Courses for Primary Fellowship Examinations for quite a number of Faculties of both National and West African Postgraduate Medical Colleges.