Welcome to Department of Physics

The Department provides tutorial and/or research courses at undergraduate and postgraduate levels leading to the award of the degrees of Bachelor of Sciences (Honours) (B.Sc), the Master of Science (M.Sc), Master of Philosophy (M.Phil) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) in Physics respectively.

Physics is one of the basic experimental physical sciences. The objectives of the undergraduate programmes of the Department are consequently geared towards providing tutorial courses that will lead to a well balanced training up to a bachelor’s degree in the subject, and also to provide the desired foundation course for students in subjects where a reasonable understanding of Physics is desirable, and sometimes imperative.

The aims of this programme are to train:

(a) Manpower that will occupy leadership positions in research institutes, environmental companies, oil and gas companies and in other related areas.

(b) Young adults who will be job creators and managers of men and resources.

(c)Young adults who will be future lecturers and trainers