The present department of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology/Biology started as a unit of Oral Pathology in the department of Oral Surgery/Oral Pathology in 1968 and had its 1st pioneer Professor in June 1969, that is, Prof. Roger Browne, a visiting Professor from University of Birmingham.  The present department of Oral Biology/Pathology was created by the council of University of Lagos in 1981 with the following members of staff; (a) academic: Prof H. A. Mosadomi, Dr. D. R. Sawyer, Associate Professor, Dr. O. Odukoya, Research Fellow II and (b) Laboratory Staff; Mr. F.A. Fasan, Chief Technologist, Mr. Mayor, Assistant Chief Technologist, Mr. Ibok and Mr. F.  Adeshan, both were Senior Laboratory Assistants and one Administrative Staff.

The department has since lost the following staff to retirement and other types of exits from service. Prof. H.A. Mosadomi, Dr. E.O. Taiwo, Dr. D. R. Sawyer, Mr. Mayor, Mr. Fasan, Mr. Adeshan, Mr. Ibok and Mrs. G. E. Inyang.

Present staff strength consists of Prof. O. Odukoya, Dr. (Mrs.) O.F. Ajayi; Associate Prof., Dr. (Mrs.) O.A. Effiom; Senior Lecturer and Ag. Head of Department, Dr. (Miss) O.M. Ogundana; Lecturer I, Dr. A. O. Akinshipo; Lecturer 1, Mrs. T. Olaleye; Chief Technologist, Mr. S.B. Ajala; Asst. Chief Technologist, Mrs. M.A. Adeloye; Senior Technologist, Mrs. T. M. Rahman; Asst. Chief Data Entry Operator, (currently serves as the Departmental Secretary following transfer of Mrs. Y.O. Ekundayo, Confidential Secretary to Department of Anatomy), Mr. M.B. Adamolekun; Chief Clerical Officer, Mrs. Elizabeth Otutu; Office Assistant.

The department has had the privilege of producing the Chief Medical Director of the Lagos University Teaching Hospital, in person of Prof. O. Odukoya from 1998 – 2006.  The department has also been involved in active academic research and publications spanning through Epidemiological, Histochemical, Immunocytochemistry and Tissue Culture studies, as well as experimental Animal Studies in Carcinogenesis.

The department has successfully trained more than 10 Resident Doctors, who have obtained Fellowship Certificate either of the West African College of Surgeons or National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria and are serving as specialist Oral Pathologists in both Nigerian Hospitals and abroad.  The department has also been able to attract two visiting Scholars, in the persons of Dr.KaluOgbureke, who served in the department for 1 year (18/10/2010 – 17/10/2011) and Dr. S.O. Akintoye, who served in the department for 10 months (January – October, 2016).